STATE LICENSING AGENCIES

FOR ASSISTED LIVING COMMUNITIES

SKILLED NURSING FACILITIES

AND LONG-TERM CARE FACILITIES

State Licensing Agency Directory


Use the directory of state links below to learn more about the standards, rules, regulations, ratings and other important information about assisted living and skilled nursing facilities in your state.


Alaska Division of Public Health

Phone: (907) 269-3640

Website: www.hss.state.ak.us

Contact:

Karen Darby

Phone: (907) 269-5258

Email: Karen.darby@alaska.gov



Alabama Department of Public Health, Bureau of Health Provider Standards

Phone: (334) 206-5575

Website: www.adph.org

Contact:

Diane A. Mann

Phone: (334) 206-5366

Email: dmann@adph.state.al.us



Arkansas Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Long Term Care

Phone: (501) 682-8468

Website: www.state.ar.us

Website: www.medicaid.state.ar.us

Contact:

Jim Hicks

Phone: (501) 682-6970

Email: james.hicks@arkansas.gov



Arizona Department of Health Services, Division of Assurance and Licensure, Office of Assisted Living Licensure

Phone: (602) 364-2639

Website: www.azdhs.gov

Contact:

Larry Martens

Phone: (602) 364-2639

Email: martenl@azdhs.gov



California Department of Social Services, Community Care Licensing Division

Phone: (916) 324-4312

Website: www.ccld.ca.gov

Contact:

Thomas Stahl

Phone: (916) 324-4312

Email: thomas.stahl@dss.ca.gov



Colorado Department of Public Health

Phone: (303) 692-2800

Website: www.healthfacilities.info

Contact:

Terry Zamell

Phone: (303) 692-2884

Email: terry.zamell@state.co.us



Connecticut Department of Public Health, Facility Licensing & Investigations Section

Phone: (860) 509-7400

Website: www.dph.state.ct.us

Contact:

Loan Nguyen

Phone: (860) 509-7400

Email: loan.nguyen@ct.gov



Washington D.C. Health Regulation Administration

Phone: (202) 442-5888

Website: dchealth.dc.gov

Contact:

Louis Woodard

Phone: (202) 442-4781

Email: louis.woodard@dc.gov



Delaware Department of Health & Social Services, Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection

Phone: (302) 577-6661

Website: Under development

Contact:

Susan DelPesco

Phone: (302) 577-6661

Email: Susan.DelPesco@State.De.Us



Florida Agency for Health Care Administration

Phone: (850) 487-2515

Website: ahca.myflorida.com

Contact:

Bernard E. Hudson

Phone: (850) 487-2515

Email: hudsonb@ahca.myflorida.com



Georgia Department of Community Health, Healthcare Facility Regulation Division

Phone: (404) 657-4076

Website: www.dch.ga.gov

Contact:

Victoria Flynn

Phone: (404) 657-5856

Email: viflynn@dhr.state.ga.us



Hawaii Department of Health, Office of Health Care Assurance

Phone: (808) 586-4080

Website: www.state.hi.us

Contact:

Keith Ridley

Phone: (808) 586-4080

Email: keith.ridley@doh.hawaii.gov



Iowa Department of Inspections and Appeals, Adult Services Bureau

Phone: (515) 281-6325

Website: www.dia-hfd.iowa.gov

Contact:

Ann Martin

Phone: (515) 281-5077

Email: amartin@dia.iowa.gov



Idaho Department of Health and Welfare

Phone: (208) 334-6626

Website: www.assistedliving.dhw.idaho.gov

Contact:

Jamie Simpson

Phone: (208) 334-6626

Email: alc@dhw.idaho.gov



Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of Assisted Living

Phone: (217) 782-2913

Website: www.idph.state.il.us

Contact:

Richard L. Dees

Phone: (217) 782-2913

Email: rick.dees@illinois.gov



Indiana State Department of Health, Division of Long Term Care (ISDH)

Phone: (317) 233-1325

Website: www.in.gov

Contact:

Kim Rhoades (ISDH)

Phone: (317) 233-7442

Email: krhoades@isdh.in.gov



Indiana Division of Aging (DA)

Phone: (888) 673-0002

Website: www.in.gov

Contact:

Susan Waschevski (DA)

Phone: (317) 232-7148

Email: Susan.Waschevski@fssa.in.gov



Kansas Department on Aging

Phone: (785) 296-1253

Website: www.agingkansas.org

Contact:

Susan Fout

Phone: (785) 296-6029

Email: Susan.Fout@aging.ks.gov



Kentucky Cabinet for Health & Family Services, Department for Aging & Independent Living

Phone: (502) 564-6930

Website: www.chs.ky.gov

Contact:

Amy Moore

Phone: (502) 564-6930

Email: amy.moore@ky.gov



Louisiana Department of Social Services Office of Community Services Licensing & Regulatory Services

Phone: (225) 342-9734

Website: www.louisiana.gov

Contact:

Yvonne D. Stewart

Phone: (225) 342-5339

Email: yvonne.stewart@la.gov



Massachusetts Executive Office of Elder Affairs

Phone: (617) 727-7750

Website: www.state.ma.us

Contact:

Duamarius Stukes

Phone: (617) 222-7465

Email: duamarius.stukes@state.ma.us



Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Office of Health Care Quality

Phone: (410) 402-8201

Website: www.dhmh.state.md.us

Contact:

Valerie Richardson

Phone: (410) 402-8185

Email: vrichardson@dhmh.state.md.us



Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Licensing and Regulatory Services, Medical Facilities Unit

Phone: (207) 287-9300

Website: www.maine.gov

Contact:

Todd Beaulieu

Phone: (207) 287-9300

Email: todd.beaulieu@maine.gov



Michigan Department of Human Services, Bureau of Children and Adult Licensing

Phone: (517) 373-8580

Website: www.michigan.gov

Contact:

Tom McWhorter

Phone: (517) 373-8580

Email: McWhortert@michigan.gov

Contact:

Mary Holton

Phone: (517) 373-8580

Email: Holtonm2@michigan.gov



Minnesota Department of Health

Phone: (651) 201-4301

Website: www.health.state.mn.us

Contact:

Jean Johnston

Phone: (651) 201-4301

Email: jean.johnston@state.mn.us



Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Division of Regulation and Licensure, Section for Long Term Care Regulation

Phone: (573) 526-8524

Website: www.dhss.state.mo.us

Contact:

Matt Younger

Phone: (573) 526-8524

Email: matt.younger@dhss.mo.gov



Mississippi Department of Health, Bureau of Health Facilities Licensure and Certification

Phone: (601) 364-1110

Website: www.msdh.state.ms.us

Contact:

Marilynn Winborne

Phone: (601) 364-1110

Email: marilynn.winborne@msdh.state.ms.us



Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Quality Assurance Division

Phone: (406) 444-2676

Website: www.dphhs.mt.gov

Contact:

Jan Kiely

Phone: (406) 444-1575

Email: jkiely@mt.gov



North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Health Service Regulation

Phone: (919) 855-3765

Website: ncdhhs.gov

Contact:

Doug Barrick

Phone: (919) 855-3778

Email: doug.barrick@dhhs.nc.gov



North Dakota Department of Health, Division of Health Facilities for Basic Care Facilities

Phone: (701) 328-2352

Website: www.ndhealth.gov

Contact:

Darleen Bartz, PhD (Basic Care)

Phone: (701) 328-2352

Email: dbartz@nd.gov



North Dakota Department of Health, Division of Food & Lodging for Assisted Living (Food Sanitation and Life Safety)

Phone: (701) 328-1292

Website: www.ndhealth.gov

Contact:

Kenan Bullinger (Food Sanitation and Life Safety)

Phone: (701) 328-1292

Email: kbulling@nd.gov



North Dakota Department of Human Services for Assisted Living Facilities

Phone: (701) 328-2321

Website: www.nd.gov

Contact:

LeeAnn Thiel (Human Services)

Phone (701) 328-4893

Email: lthiel@nd.gov




Office of Long Term Care Facilities, Licensure Unit, Division of Public Health, Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services                                                                   Phone: (402) 471-2133

Website: www.hhs.state.ne.us

Contact:

Eve Lewis

Phone: (402) 471-3324

Email: eve.lewis@nebraska.gov



New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Operations Support, Health Facilities Administration

Phone: (603) 271-4592

Website: www.dhhs.state.nh.us

Contact:

John Martin

Phone: (603) 271-5321

Email: jbmartin@dhhs.state.nh.us



New Jersey Department of Health and Senior Services

Phone: 609-633-9034

Website: www.state.nj.us

Contact:

John Calabria

Phone: 609-633-9034

Email: john.calabria@doh.state.nj.us

Contact:

Barbara Goldman

Email: barbara.goldman@doh.state.nj.us



New Mexico Department of Health, Health Facility Licensing and Certification Bureau

Phone: (505) 476-9031

Website: dhi.health.state.nm.us

Contact:

Amber Espinosa-Trujillo

Phone: (505) 476-9031

Email: Amber.Espinosa-Truj@state.nm.us



Nevada Division of Health, Bureau of Health Care Quality and Compliance

Phone: (775) 687-4475

Website: www.health.nv.gov

Contact:

Patricia Chambers, RN

Phone: (775) 687-4475

Email: pchambers@health.nv.gov



New York Department of Health

Phone: (518) 408-1600

Website: www.health.state.ny.us

Contact:

Guy Warner

Phone: (518) 408-1600

Email: grw01@health.state.ny.us



Ohio Department of Health

Phone: (614) 466-7713

Website: www.odh.state.oh.us.

Contact:

Bridgette Smith

Phone: (614) 466-7713

Email: bridgette.smith@odh.ohio.gov



Oklahoma Department of Health, Protective Health Services

Phone: (405) 271-6868

Website: www.health.ok.us

Contact:

Darlene Simmons (licensure)

Phone: (405) 271-6868

Email: darlene@health.ok.gov

Contact:

Mary Fleming, RN (inspection)

Email: maryf@health.ok.gov



Oregon Department of Human Services, Seniors and People with Disabilities

Phone: (503) 945-5832

Website: www.oregon.gov

Contact:

Dennett Taber

Phone: (503) 945-5793

Email: dennett.taber@state.or.us



Pennsylvania Department of Public Welfare, Bureau of Adult Residential Licensure

Phone: (717) 783-3670

Website: www.dpw.state.pa.us

Contact:

Karen E. Kroh

Phone: (717) 783-3670

Email: kkroh@state.pa.us



Rhode Island Department of Health Facilities, Regulation Division

Phone: (401) 222-2566

Website: www.HEALTH.ri.gov

Contact:

Andrew Powers

Phone: (401) 222-4523

Email: andrew.powers@HEALTH.ri.gov



South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Health Licensing

Phone: (803) 545-4370

Website: www.scdhec.gov

Contact:

Shelton Elliott

Phone: (803) 545-4227

Email: ElliotSM@dhec.sc.gov



South Dakota Department of Health, Office of Health Care Facilities Licensure and Certification

Phone: (605) 773-3356

Website: www.state.sd.us

Contact:

Rosemary Connot

Phone: (605) 842-2969

Email: rosemary.connot@state.sd.us



Tennessee Department of Health, Division of Health Care Facilities

Phone: (615) 741-7221

Website: www2.state.tn.us

Contact:

Ann Rutherford Reed

Phone: (615) 741-7188

Email: Ann.R.Reed@tn.gov



Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services

Phone: (512) 438-3161

Website: www.dads.state.tx.us

Contact:

Dotty Acosta

Phone: (512) 438-2170

Email: dorothea.acosta@dads.state.tx.us



Utah Department of Health, Facility Licensing, Certification and Resident Assessment

Phone: (801) 538-6158

Website: www.health.utah.gov

Contact:

Carmen Richins

Phone: (801) 538-6158

Email: carmenrichins@utah.gov



Virginia Department of Social Services, Division of Licensing Programs

Phone: (804) 726-7157

Website: www.dss.state.va.us

Contact:

Judy McGreal

Phone: (804) 726-7157

Email: judith.mcgreal@dss.virginia.gov



Vermont Department of Disabilities, Aging, and Independent Living, Division of Licensing & Protection

Phone: (802) 241-2345

Website: www.dail.vermont.gov


Contact:

Fran Keeler

Phone: (802) 241-2345

Email: frances.keeler@ahs.state.vt.us



Washington Department of Social and Health Services/Aging and Disability Services Administration

Phone: (360) 725-2300

Website: www.adsa.dshs.wa.gov

Contact:

Judy Johnson

Phone: (360) 725-2591

Email: judy.johnson@dshs.wa.gov



Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Division of Quality Assurance, Bureau of Assisted Living

Phone: (608) 266-8598

Website: www.dhs.wisconsin.gov

Contact:

Kevin Coughlin

Phone: (920) 983-3189

Email: kevin.coughlin@wi.gov



West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Bureau for Public Health, Office of Health Facilities Licensure and Certification

Phone: (304) 558-0050

Website: www.WVDHHR.org

Contact:

Sharon Kirk

Phone: (304) 558-3151

Email: Sharon.R.Kirk@wv.gov



Wyoming Department of Health, Office of Healthcare Licensing and Surveys

Phone: (307) 777-7123

Website: wdh.state.wy.us

Contact:

Jean McLean

Phone: (307) 777-7123

Email: jean.mclean@health.wyo.gov

STATE LICENSING AGENCIES                                    FOR ASSISTED LIVING COMMUNITIES                     AND SKILLED NURSING FACILITIES

Assisted Living communities and Skilled Nursing facilities are licensed and regulated by the state where the facility is located. There is no current national standard for licensing or regulation of these facilities. 


Each state is responsible for establishment, oversight and enforcement of the rules, regulations and requirements for assisted living, skilled nursing facilities and other long tern care facilities in their state.

The content on AsYouAge.com is provided as a courtesy for our site visitors. The information, resources, links, advertisements and other material on AsYouAge does not constitute a professional opinion or advice; nor does it constitute an endorsement of any organization or the information, products and/or services they may offer.

 Join Our Care Provider NetworkSign_Up_Provider_Network_Directory_and_Provider_Referrals.html

AsYouAge.com  Provides Free, Reliable Senior Information and Resources

The content on AsYouAge.com is provided as a courtesy for our site visitors. The information, resources, links, advertisements and other material on AsYouAge does not constitute a professional opinion or advice; nor does it constitute an endorsement of any organization or the information, products and/or services they may offer. AsYouAge reviews and updates its content regularly when new and relevant information is made available. This information is neither intended nor implied to be a substitute for professional advice in any area: health, medical, legal, insurance, financial or any other area. Always seek the advice of your physician or qualified health provider, or caregiver, attorney, financial, insurance expert or other specialist prior to starting, dropping or changing your current program or have questions or concerns  regarding current or anticipated issues.


www. AsYouAge.com       

Copyright 2009 - 2013.  All Rights Reserved.

As You Age

State Licensing Agencies For Assisted Living, Skilled Nursing Facilities and Long Term Care Facilities

AsYouAge.com is a directory of Senior information and Senior resources for in-home care, healthcare, senior housing, Social Security, Medicare, Veterans benefits, elderlaw, nutrition, fitness, travel, finance, medical symptoms, consumer protection, senior  care, caregiving and more. www.AsYouAge.com